Cheesemaking.com ships cheesemaking supplies worldwide.

 

Search Our Site:


Join Our Free Monthly Moosletter

For Email Newsletters
you can trust
Fromage Blanc(DS)-5 pack

Fromage Blanc(DS)-5 pack (C20)



Based on 8 review(s)
Show
Reviews 1-8 of 8
Buttermilk
Rating:
Author:
Lina
Location:
Sylvania, GA
Review Date:
12/11/2011
Pros:
Cons:
This is the starter I use to make buttermilk: 1 packet of starter to 6 cups of skim milk + 1/2 cup of non-fat low-heat powdered milk (NOT the instant kind from the grocery store!), stirred into room-temperature milk (during the process of taking grocery store milk to 180 degrees). This process yields a very thick buttermilk, so - after it's set - I stir the buttermilk with a pinch of salt, then add ~2 cups of whey (left from making fromage blanc w/Fromagina starter) to thin AND add protein (not to mention a little bit of fat, given that I use some half-&-half in my fromage blanc). Yield ~1/2 gallon REALLY GOOD buttermilk!
Fromage Blanc
Rating:
Author:
Kadi
Location:
Idaho
Review Date:
9/21/2010
Pros:
Cons:
Very easy , very yummy. It is so easy and is great for herb cheese spread. I added 1 clove garlic, italian herbs and salt. Better than the rondel cheese you can buy. Great texture. I also added lemon juice ,vanilla and sugar for a cheese cake flavor. Great on crackers. can''t wait to try it in place of cream cheese in recipes. LOVE IT!
Great Substitute for cream cheese
Rating:
Author:
George
Location:
Review Date:
12/5/2010
Pros:
Cons:
There is little difference in the making of Fromage Blanc and cream cheese. I found the Fromage Blanc to be lighter than cream cheese. My wife used this to make a pumpkin cheese cake and it was perfect. Light and creamy, I think this cheese will be made often in our house.



It took me a couple of attempts to get this cheese to turn out well as I am in Florida and my average room temperature is 77F. In general it sets up in 5-6 hours for me and if I drain it at room temperature as well it is ready to go into the refrigerator at 8-10 hours after starting. A Longer set time gives a stronger tang to the final product which would be nice when used with herbs to make a dip.



I bought a 25 pack deal last time it was on the sale item list. (-:
Quark
Rating:
Author:
German Girls
Location:
Andover, MA
Review Date:
4/12/2012
Pros:
Cons:
For all the German's who read this. This is Quark, the right stuff for making cheesecake! I love it and use it all the time. Making it is really easy as well. I used to make Quark with a yoghurt maker and buttermilk, which tasted like buttermilk, but it worked. It was a lot of work though, since the yoghurt maker did not make a lot of Quark I had to do it three times to get the right amount for a cheesecake. This is much simpler. I makes just about the right amount for one cheesecake, with a little bit left. ITS GREAT! Can only recommend it and not a lot of work at all. Just a little bit of time.
So easy - so good - possibilities are endless
Rating:
Author:
yowza
Location:
state of Jefferson (N. California)
Review Date:
6/30/2013
Pros:
Cons:
This is really easy to use! It's also really mild and delicious, and the yield is quite high! The whole process occurs at approximately (summer) room temperature. I don't even heat the milk on the stove, just let it come to room temp. AND I use regular store-bought milk and it comes out fantastic. It's so easy I've given the individual envelopes along with some butter muslin to non-cheese-makers and it gets them hooked. I've made it with all kinds of various herbs and I've made it plain. The yield is big enough you can try a bunch of variations from the same batch. I've made it with a spreadable consistency and a mold-able, crumbly consistency (about like chevre). For a special treat, I add a little additional (ultra-pasteurized) cream to the milk. I'm going to try adding some fresh apricots to the next batch. It's going to be a long time before I get bored with just this one culture.
This makes awesome Coeur a la Creme
Rating:
Author:
Bonnie
Location:
Vernonia, OR
Review Date:
6/17/2011
Pros:
  • very easy to make
Cons:
I have a confession...I've never eaten Fromage Blanc or Coeur a la Creme before. I wasn't sure what to expect. But I made the Fromage Blanc--I couldn't believe how easy it was! And then I made Coeur a la Creme. I just followed the directions. I was WONDERFUL!!! I made a peach sauce by draining a can of peaches and putting them in the blender to puree for a couple seconds. I poured the peach sauce over the Coeur a la Creme. It was so good. I swear, this is what the Angels eat in Heaven!
Très bon
Rating:
Author:
mldsd
Location:
TX
Review Date:
6/8/2011
Pros:
  • easy
Cons:
  • price
Very close to the cheese I used to eat as a kid in France. Very easy to make. Delicious with some home made crème fraîche (or you can liquefy some sour cream) poured on top and some orange honey.
Versatile soft cheese
Rating:
Author:
Mo
Location:
Review Date:
8/30/2011
Pros:
  • Easy
  • Delicious
Cons:
This is the first cheese I've ever made and it was very easy. The culture makes a light and creamy cheese that works well with sweet or savory flavors. I've used it as a substitute for cream cheese and mascarpone. In my dry climate, it only takes about 5 hours to reach cream cheese consistency. I asked the experts here about freezing since I can't (more like shouldn't) eat two pounds in a week and they said it could be frozen as long as salt hasn't been added.
Reviews 1-8 of 8

Featured Items
Fromagina(DS)-5 pack
Fromagina(DS)-5 pack
Price: $5.95


What are people saying about us? Check it out here.



The Cheese Queen is in Food and Wine and Barbara Kingsolver's
book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!

Thanks for joining our cheese making family, keep those stories & photos coming. We love to hear from you!

In Peace,
Ricki, the cheese queen

SHARE THIS PAGE

  SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

©2013 New England Cheesemaking Supply, Inc. All Rights Reserved

New England Cheesemaking Supply Company
54B Whately Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373
E-mail info@cheesemaking.com

Phone (413) 397-2012  Fax (413) 397-2014
Store Hours: Monday-Friday 9am-4pm EST
We are out for lunch from 12:00pm-12:30pm EST

   

Click here for our Return/Exchange Form

Many of our products are assembled by American Veterans in Leeds Massachusetts, for more information please click here.