We ship cheesemaking supplies worldwide.

We will be closed Thursday, Nov. 27th and Friday, Nov 28th for the Thanksgiving holiday.
We will re-open on Monday, Dec 1st.

 

Search Our Site:


Join Our Free Monthly Moosletter

For Email Newsletters
you can trust
Buttermilk (DS) - 5 packets

Buttermilk (DS) - 5 packets (C21)



Based on 8 review(s)
Show
Reviews 1-8 of 8
Great Stuff
Rating:
Author:
Dave Walker
Location:
Big Island, HI
Review Date:
9/11/2014
Pros:
Cons:
I re-cultured the last packet in my order, and it worked fine. Then we lost power for 36 hours and all my precious culture cubes melted ! Still cold, so I inoculated some homo milk . In 12 hours it separated into whey and a very firm curd. Made a tangy cottage cheese, so good I made a few more batches before tossing the poor old bugs.

A Persian friend suggested mixing buttermilk with cardamon and mint, it's great! I'm ordering more today, and some kefir culture , too.









I love this this starter!
Rating:
Author:
Elena
Location:
Israel
Review Date:
10/7/2011
Pros:
Cons:
I make my own buttermilk from 3% cow milk UHP- this starter works slowly, but gives a wonderful thick tangy cultured milk product!

I add ussually(for 1 lt of milk ) - 2 tbsp of dry low-fat milk, 1 tsp of inulin, and in last batch i added 2 tsp of honey (something 30 minuts before thickening - when milk is still liquid).

Thank you!

It Works!
Rating:
Author:
Kelly
Location:
Williamsburg, VA
Review Date:
5/21/2012
Pros:
Cons:
I was given this packet by Tess Schaffner from Off The Vine Market here in Williamsburg. We used milk from Trickling Springs Creamery purchased at the market and frankly were a bit skeptical if this would work. After following the instructions and waiting the 24 hour period, my mother and grandmother and I found the glass jar of milk and transformed into actual buttermilk. We used Creamline Milk and we think because of this, it gave the milk it's nice thick appearance. My grandmother said it tastes like the buttermilk of her childhood.
Old Fashioned Buttermilk
Rating:
Location:
Denver , CO
Review Date:
1/19/2013
Pros:
Cons:
This culture makes a great butter milk. My wife is very fond of butter milk especially with a little salt. Ever since I started making the b.m. she'll drink it again!
So much fun using the buttermilk!!!
Rating:
Author:
Janet
Location:
Marina del Rey, CA
Review Date:
9/9/2012
Pros:
Cons:
So I ended up with a gallon of organic pasteurized milk and some of these packets of culture. I do not like buttermilk to drink, or milk. But I made 4 liters of this. It was beautiful and really thick. With my buttermilk this weekend, I made 1. The world's best biscuits, 2. UNBElievable pancakes, 3. Cool buttermilk blue cheese dressing for my salad, 4. Cornbread, 5. Two pints of crazy good buttermilk sour cream. And I still have 2 liters of this stuff to play with. I have it in old fashioned jars with glass and rubber tops. It's pretty and I'm happy to say that I am loving this way of making buttermilk. It's not like anything I've ever had and it elevates each of the things I've made in my kitchen to a whole new level.
super thick
Rating:
Author:
Dave Walker
Location:
Hilo, Big Island of Hawaii
Review Date:
3/5/2014
Pros:
Cons:
Made a quart with powder milk. It set up very thick, just pourable. Decent flavor, and I diluted it with water or soda water.(Buttermilk and soda is quite refreshing.) Next made 1 1/2 quarts with pastuerized homo whole milk from the island. Nearly as thick, good flavor. I've been drinking this batch straight.
super thick
Rating:
Author:
Dave Walker
Location:
Hilo, Big Island of Hawaii
Review Date:
3/5/2014
Pros:
Cons:
Made a quart with powder milk. It set up very thick, just pourable. Decent flavor, and I diluted it with water or soda water.(Buttermilk and soda is quite refreshing.) Next made 1 1/2 quarts with pastuerized homo whole milk from the island. Nearly as thick, good flavor. I've been drinking this batch straight.
Using Buttermilk-DS as a mesophilic starter
Rating:
Author:
Robert Goff
Location:
Blacksburg, VA
Review Date:
1/25/2011
Pros:
  • good buttermilk
  • good buttermilk cheese
  • good farmhouse cheddar
  • good Swiss-style cream cheese
Cons:
  • none
This starter, of course, makes wonderful cultered buttermilk and a tangy buttermilk soft cheese, as instructed in Ricki's book. Out of curiosity, I tried the Buttermilk-DS starter in in a farmhouse CHEDDAR recipe. It produced a good, firm curd (with a subtle buttery aroma), and produced a lovely, solid wheel after pressing up to 50 pounds. The cheese, after 6 weeks of aging in wax at 48 degrees, resembles gouda with a bit more acid tang. Very nice. One further experiment was to use it in Ricki's recipe for Swiss-style CREAM CHEESE. For this, I deviated from the her published recipe by using 1 packet of Buttermilk-DS in 2 quarts (rather than 1 quart) of Kroger brand Half and Half (the 1 quart Kroger Half and Half is not UP, although their similar label 1/2 gallon IS UP!), and performed all the lengthy setting and draining at 63 degrees F (the winter temp of my kitchen) rather than her suggested 65 degrees. Press weight was 10 pounds. WOW! Whereas the predicted yield was about 1 pound, I ended up with 2 pounds of the richest, creamy and full-flavored cream cheese I've ever tasted. I suspect that the Leuconostoc mesenteroides subspecies cremoris that appears to be contained in the Buttermilk-DS came into its own at the lower temperature. One could imagine that this particular bug lurks in the raw milk of the Alps. My point in writing this review is to encourage others to consider the Buttermilk-DS starter as an interesting variant for any recipies that call for a simple direct-set mesophilic starter. [As a probiotic, the s. cremoris appears from the scientific literature to be more potent than the various probiotic bugs found in yogurts.]
Reviews 1-8 of 8

Featured Items
Cheese Curd Scoop Cheese curd scooper, soup saver scoop, curd ladle, curd scooper, curd scoop, curd ladle
Cheese Curd Scoop
Price: $7.95


What are people saying about us? Check it out here.



The Cheese Queen is in Food and Wine and Barbara Kingsolver's
book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!

Thanks for joining our cheese making family, keep those stories & photos coming. We love to hear from you!

In Peace,
Ricki, the cheese queen

SHARE THIS PAGE

  SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

©2013 New England Cheesemaking Supply, Inc. All Rights Reserved

New England Cheesemaking Supply Company
54B Whately Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373
E-mail info@cheesemaking.com

Phone (413) 397-2012  Fax (413) 397-2014
Monday-Friday 9am-4pm EST
We are out for lunch from 12:00pm-12:30pm EST

   

Click here for our Return/Exchange Form

Many of our products are assembled by American Veterans in Leeds Massachusetts, for more information please click here.