We ship cheesemaking supplies worldwide.

 

Search Our Site:


Join Our Free Monthly Moosletter

For Email Newsletters
you can trust
Yogurt (DS) sweet - 5 packets

Yogurt (DS) sweet - 5 packets (Y5)



Based on 8 review(s)
Show
Reviews 1-8 of 8
esiest way to make yogurt
Rating:
Author:
M.M.
Location:
St. Agatha , ME
Review Date:
11/16/2011
Pros:
Cons:
These products you sell are the easiest I have ever seen to use, and the yogathurn is the best thing this side of heaven! I would recomend your products to anyone interested in going the natural route. I have made Mozzarella many times and my husband loves it. I have my own cows which I purchased just so I could try my own yogurt, I am unable to digest yogurt from the stores but I have no issues with this culture and my own milk. Also I will be attempting to try and make some of the other cheeses. Once again thanks for such wonderful products.
Great for Yogurt Cheese
Rating:
Author:
George
Location:
Review Date:
12/5/2010
Pros:
Cons:
I like to use yogurt cheese with a poached peach desert. It holds up the the heat of the warm peach when served. Making yogurt cheese tends to concentrate the sharpness of the yogurt and the Y5 culture is great for this as it is less tangy to start with. I've also used it mixed with chives, bacon bits,and shredded cheddar cheese to stuff baked finger potatoes as a finger food at a party.



As a yogurt, it is great when mixed with honey, or fresh fruits.
Great starter
Rating:
Author:
Gary
Location:
Cedar Grove, NC
Review Date:
7/22/2011
Pros:
  • quality
  • taste
Cons:
My order came quickly and works great. I've made two batches, they were nicely thickened and taste great. I made the second batch using a bit of yogurt I saved from the first batch. It turned out just as good. I'm saving the other 4 packets as backup when my culture fails or the taste changes.
If you don''t like *tart* yogurt, this is the best!
Rating:
Author:
JJ
Location:
Houston, TX
Review Date:
9/5/2010
Pros:
  • Best tasting
  • easy to use
Cons:
  • None
I love this yogurt culture for making sweet, thick yogurt. I also add 1/4 t flora danica per gallon of milk, which adds a buttery taste. I might even try this with lowfat milk. I always found the store brands were too tart. This is especially good as yogurt cheese. I spread on toast and put Rigoni di Asiago Org. fruit spread on top. YUM!
new favorite
Rating:
Author:
ND
Location:
Oregon, USA
Review Date:
9/26/2014
Pros:
Cons:
This is the only yogurt so far that I will happily eat completely unsweetened. Straining it in butter muslin for one hour after culturing produces a super thick, creamy, naturally sweet yogurt. Add a tiny bit of maple syrup and a drop of vanilla and it is yogurt heaven.



Commercial yogurt is made horribly sour and then they try to cover up the awful flavor with sickly sweet additions. This would be a good culture to try out on family members that don't normally like yogurt.

So easy
Rating:
Author:
Shelia
Location:
Dover, DE
Review Date:
11/11/2012
Pros:
Cons:
I just made 2 quarts of Y5 yogurt. It was so easy. I used 2 quart jars wrapped in heavy towels and a heating pad. It was that easy. Tasted wonderful and was very thick. Thanks, will be buying more.
The BEST!
Rating:
Author:
Dragonwycke
Location:
Tres Piedras, NM
Review Date:
11/19/2011
Pros:
Cons:
This culture is fantastic! It creates a very thick, creamy, and mild yogurt. To make a "dessert" yogurt I use 1 qt fresh cream* and 1 qt fresh milk*, this ratio makes yogurt that rivals ice cream! This culture has a natural sweetness, I add 1 whole scraped vanilla bean to the finished 2Qts of yogurt and then top with fresh fruit, no need for any extra sweetener(at least for me!). Excellent for "Coer al La Creme".



*Fresh Milk provided by "Betty" my Irish Dexter cow!
Y5 yogurt culture
Rating:
Author:
Ron
Location:
Yuma, AZ
Review Date:
8/13/2011
Pros:
  • Creamy
  • rich
  • thick delicious
Cons:
  • none
I just want to say this is my first try at making yogurt. It was very successful. Thank you for making this available. My second batch I used 6 qts of whole milk with 2 pkgs of starter. This one was the best yet. Not quite as sour and it set fine. Our weather is very conducive to making yogurt. Our highs range from 105 to 110 degrees.It made about 3 qts of greek style yogurt. My kids love it. We add vanilla and stevia to sweeten. Have to control the sugar intake. Thank you once again.
Reviews 1-8 of 8

Featured Items


What are people saying about us? Check it out here.



The Cheese Queen is in Food and Wine and Barbara Kingsolver's
book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!

Thanks for joining our cheese making family, keep those stories & photos coming. We love to hear from you!

In Peace,
Ricki, the cheese queen

SHARE THIS PAGE

  SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

©2013 New England Cheesemaking Supply, Inc. All Rights Reserved

New England Cheesemaking Supply Company
54B Whately Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373
E-mail info@cheesemaking.com

Phone (413) 397-2012  Fax (413) 397-2014
Monday-Friday 9am-4pm EST
We are out for lunch from 12:00pm-12:30pm EST

   

Click here for our Return/Exchange Form

Many of our products are assembled by American Veterans in Leeds Massachusetts, for more information please click here.