We ship cheesemaking supplies worldwide.

 

Search Our Site:


Join Our Free Monthly Moosletter

For Email Newsletters
you can trust
30 Minute Mozzarella & Ricotta Kit Mozzarella, Ricotta, Mozzarella Cheese, Cheese Making, Fresh Mozzarella, homemade mozzarella cheese, how to make mozzarella cheese, homemade cheese, cheesemaking at home, how to make mozzarella, homemade mozzarella, diy mozzarella, make your own cheese, diy cheese, cheese kit

30 Minute Mozzarella & Ricotta Kit (K2)



Based on 20 review(s)
Show
Reviews 1-20 of 20
Rating:
Author:
Katie
Location:
Dallas, TX
Review Date:
7/2/2011
Pros:
Cons:
I read about this in Animal, Vegetable, Miracle ages ago and I'm so glad I finally ordered it. I've made the mozz twice with success and will probably buy more kits as gifts in the future. Love it!
Rating:
Author:
Austin
Location:
Review Date:
2/9/2013
Pros:
Cons:
I found the directions very confusing. There are tutorials on youtube and such that explain things better and have some little tricks. The mozzarella did turn out well the second time but the directions made it frustrating to make the first couple times. Im lucky enough to have a store right around the corner where i can buy renant, citric acid and cheese cloth pretty cheap so I wouldnt have bought this product but it was a gift.
30 minutes, no kidding!!!
Rating:
Author:
Renee
Location:
Oakland, CA
Review Date:
7/15/2011
Pros:
Cons:
I didn't believe it was 30 minutes and put it to the test. While waiting for the bread to bake, I started the mozzarella. It was done before the bread!! It is absolutely magical and easier than you can even imagine. It's hard to mess up and I've done it three times already, once when the dinner guests had already arrived so they could see the hors d'oeuvres appear right in front of their eyes!! My only minor complaint (if it even is one is that the thermometer is not like the one in the demo video, but just like the one you put under your tongue. It would have been nice to see a picture of the one that comes in the kit before buying it.
Best mozzarella ever!
Rating:
Author:
Lani George
Location:
Lufkin, TX
Review Date:
9/16/2014
Pros:
Cons:
I used raw milk from my Nubian dairy goat, so I followed the instructions for not letting my milk get hotter than 90 degrees. I've made 3 batches so far - all are wonderful! Everyone who has tasted the mozzarella have raved and said it tastes better, and is creamier, than any other they've ever had! It is incredibly exciting to see your cheese s-t-r-e-t-c-h just like it's supposed to! Don't be afraid to do this if it's your first cheese. It's my first cheese, and everything came out great.



I tried the ricotta, but didn't get curd formation. I think I heated my raw milk too fast and stirred too much and it broke up the curd. This, however, is "pilot error", and has nothing to do with the fine product being reviewed.
buy it and enjoy it!
Rating:
Author:
toeknee
Location:
Redwood city, ca
Review Date:
12/28/2012
Pros:
Cons:
I can't be happier learning and making mozzerella. I originally got it for my three year old, and she does help a lot, but when company comes over and I whip out fresh mozzerella and make them help and bake it for our dinner, it's just special. It tastes real clean and the directions are easy to follow. I'm looking forward to making new cheeses over time and just am so happy to have this kit.
Cheese Making it Fun
Rating:
Author:
Hannah
Location:
Guelph, Ont
Review Date:
1/1/2011
Pros:
  • easy to use
Cons:
I got this kit from my kids for Christmas. We have used it twice already and have had great results both times. I love that the kit has every thing you need (except milk). The instructions are easy to follow.....most of all making Cheese IS FUN....... and yummy. I'm looking forward to trying some of the other kits.
Delicious and fun... a great combination!
Rating:
Author:
Barb L.
Location:
Eastern Sierra
Review Date:
9/2/2010
Pros:
  • Clear directions
  • Complete kit
  • Easy to use
  • Delicious cheese!
  • Price
Cons:
  • Texture changed from ice water
We just made our first batch of mozzarella from this kit. It was a gift for my daughter''s 15th birthday, because she was so intrigued by the idea of making our own cheese. The directions were very clear, we made certain we had milk that wasn''t UP, and dove in. Everything worked exactly as the directions indicated and the result was easy and delicious! So, delicious in fact that the batch was gone in minutes! Especially delicious on slices of homegrown tomatoes!



I have to say this is a great idea and am hoping to use this in my job soon. Kids need to see where our food comes from and be involved in the process as much as possible. I cannot imagine any child not enjoying this experience and the oppportunity to enjoy it together with a parent is priceless! Next up... cheddar!
Easy and delicious! What more could one ask for?!
Rating:
Author:
Algedi Farm
Location:
Oregon
Review Date:
8/19/2011
Pros:
Cons:
I just made mozzarella from fresh, raw goat's milk (from Nigerian Dwarfs, which have an average of 6% butterfat). This was my first time making cheese, and it went off without a hitch. I used a 1/4 tsp of the lipase, and was generous with the cheese salt. The resulting product is divine! And I got a very good yield, which may be thanks to the ND's milk. I will definitely make this again and again.
Fun Gift to Receive & Give!
Rating:
Location:
Review Date:
5/21/2012
Pros:
Cons:
We purchased this Kit for our daughter to try with her friends. We purchased this from Tess Schaffner of Off The Vine Market after one of our neighbors attended one of their cheese classes. Our neighbor said the instructors made the process look so easy. As instructed, we purchased Whole Milk produced by Trickling Springs from Tess' market. We also watched several videos online watching chefs and amatures working with the gobs of curds. We (daughter and friends and I) finally after two attempts transformed the milk into an edible delight. The first batch we did not heat it properly to the right temp and the second batch we watched it like a baby. For the third half gallon of whole milk, we used 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar and made a nice ricotta cheese for our grilled pizza.
Great product and family fun
Rating:
Author:
Location:
Review Date:
8/26/2012
Pros:
Cons:
I bought this for my wife for a birthday present. She has loved it. The whole family has been making cheese and it is great to get the kids involved (and set aside their electronics). And the cheese we made has been yummy. You have everything in the kit to make some great cheese. The only thing we added to make it easier was a digital thermometer with a probe so it's hands free. I just ordered (from this website) the ingredients and tools to try cheddar cheese. Great web site, great cheese. Five star rating !!!!!!
Great result straight away
Rating:
Author:
New cheesehead
Location:
New York
Review Date:
3/1/2014
Pros:
Cons:
Followed the instructions to the letter and got 1lb of cheese! Can't believe how well it turned out. Very excited to make another batch. Thank you Ricki!
It Really IS Easy!
Rating:
Author:
Connie
Location:
Ohio
Review Date:
12/3/2011
Pros:
  • Everything in the kit- just add milk!
Cons:
I have wanted to make cheese for a while, and when a friend sent me a link to your site, I figured, why not? I was so excited to receive my kit, I made cheese that same night! It really IS easy, and doesn't take much time at all. The mozzarella is smooth and creamy and tastes great! My husband thought I was crazy, but it turns out he is telling everybody about it. And I just ordered a kit for my mom... Thanks for making this so easy and fun!
It was easy!!!
Rating:
Author:
Tracy
Location:
Mount Joy, PA
Review Date:
2/20/2011
Pros:
  • easy and easy to follow instructions
Cons:
  • will add 1/2 the salt next time
My sister got me this at Christmas because she likes to eat cheese. I waited till she came over and we made it together. It was so easy and tasty. I can't wait to make another batch and add some of the herbs that I grew.
Loved It!!
Rating:
Author:
Jingles
Location:
NC
Review Date:
6/10/2011
Pros:
  • Great instructions
  • easy to follow
Cons:
It was super easy, we used goat milk from our goat. We made two Mozzarellas the first day and 4 the next day. Fresh Mozzarella is one of our weaknesses in this house. I made 2 soft and 2 harder the second day. They were great.
Made mozzarella twice now
Rating:
Author:
HennyPenny
Location:
NW Vermont
Review Date:
8/27/2011
Pros:
  • Easy
  • quality
Cons:
I'm just thrilled to be making mozzarella. My plan was to make as much as I could and freeze it for the winter. Ha! It should last so long. Anyway, on to the review. The kit is quality and the instructions are more than adequate. Experience will teach me how to judge the curd, it's come out different both times. The end results have been very good though, so I have courage to carry on and try again.
My First Batch of Mozzarella!!
Rating:
Author:
Jill P from North Olmsted, Ohio
Location:
North Olmsted, Ohio
Review Date:
12/1/2010
Pros:
  • simple instructions and helpful website
Cons:
  • I'll add about 1/2 thr salt next time
I jut finished it using the kit. I have never made cheese before and I just has to write you to to say IT IS FABULOUS!!!!!!! I am so pleased with the simple kit. I had been holding the kit for a few weeks, intimated by the thought, I think. But it was so simple! I am so glad I bought two kits - one is a Christmas gift for my nieces, who love doing projects with their mother (my sister). Thank you for the wonderful kit, the great and fun instructions and the FAQ''s on the website! I am off now to have another taste!!! And order Ricki''s Basic Cheese Making Kit - cheddar and parmesan - yum!!!!!



No flavor
Rating:
Author:
dana
Location:
Los Angeles, Ca
Review Date:
6/26/2011
Pros:
  • arrived quickly
  • easy to make
Cons:
  • no flavor
  • cost
I was really excited to make my own mozzarella cheese, and the instructions were easy to follow. But the flavor of the cheese was very disappointing. It looked like cheese, had the consistency of cheese, and melted nicely, but it had absolutely no flavor. It was a shame since the kit (plus shipping) cost $37.15 and the two half gallons of milk (organic, the employee at whole foods said it would be the closest to raw milk, it even had this thick cream in the top two inches of the glass bottle) cost $12.38. So the flavorless softball size ball of cheese cost me nearly $50 to make. If the flavor had been out-of-this-world, it would have been worth the time and the cost of the milk to do on a regular basis, but it wasn't.
Off to great start...
Rating:
Author:
Mike
Location:
Review Date:
8/18/2011
Pros:
Cons:
This really is the ideal kit for beginners. I have successfully made three batches and have incorporated various fresh herbs from the garden. I intend make more for my wedding reception next fall.
Thermometer was broken
Rating:
Author:
Charissa
Location:
Denver, CO
Review Date:
10/20/2013
Pros:
Cons:
I attempted to make cheese 4 separate times with 4 different types of local whole milk. Followed the directions and videos 100%. It wasn't until the 4th time that I realized that the terrible thermometer that came with the kit was actually off by a couple of degrees. It was a lot of wasted time. I would just recommend buying the ingredients on your own with a digital cooking thermometer.
wasted money
Rating:
Author:
Jessica
Location:
Vancouver, WA
Review Date:
2/5/2013
Pros:
Cons:
Maybe this was my fault for assuming the outside of the box reflected what was inside. I received this as a present and read on the outside of the box "what you need... 1 Gallon whole milk plus 1 pint half and half". So I put both products on my grocery list since neither are typically in my home. I get home and plan on getting started on my cheeses so I can make lasagna for dinner. Then I find out that 1 gallon is needed per recipe not to make both, and I still haven't figured why the box told me I needed half and half because it is not mentioned in a single recipe in the book. So I wasted money on the half and half that won't get used for anything else in my house, and I had to completely re-plan dinner. Total waste of time and I haven't even started yet.
Reviews 1-20 of 20

What are people saying about us? Check it out here.



The Cheese Queen is in Food and Wine and Barbara Kingsolver's
book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!

Thanks for joining our cheese making family, keep those stories & photos coming. We love to hear from you!

In Peace,
Ricki, the cheese queen

SHARE THIS PAGE

  SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

©2013 New England Cheesemaking Supply, Inc. All Rights Reserved

New England Cheesemaking Supply Company
54B Whately Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373
E-mail info@cheesemaking.com

Phone (413) 397-2012  Fax (413) 397-2014
Monday-Friday 9am-4pm EST
We are out for lunch from 12:00pm-12:30pm EST

   

Click here for our Return/Exchange Form

Many of our products are assembled by American Veterans in Leeds Massachusetts, for more information please click here.